Disk 1

Got through disk 1 of the Financial Peace University series in one and a half commutes to work, about 45 minutes total. I’m impressed. The “baby steps” seem totally do-able.

I finally listed a few things on craigslist that can help get me to the emergency savings goal, which is first priority over paying off credit cards or other debt (I had this backwards and it now makes sense why). I had my “savings” category all the way at the bottom of the list…if I didn’t get to it, I didn’t get to it. Now, it’s first, if I don’t get to other bills, I don’t get to other bills. Trust me, it makes sense. I don’t want to go into the whole explanation because then why would you go and listen to the disks? (No, I’m not getting paid for this review). Dave is quite entertaining so you will enjoy it even if you hate finances. And I can’t explain it quite the way he does.

I also decided to lean down the house. Meaning, that all the STUFF I have needs to be either given away if I don’t use it, either by way of garage sale, donations, or selling online. I want everything in my home to function for a purpose, I want to know what is in my home. I went through 2 closets and forgot I had things in there….I haven’t seen these items in over a year!! And that is a crazy idea since in that time I have moved twice. So that means I moved things I didn’t even know I had….TWICE! Ergo, I don’t need it if I don’t realize I own it. I imagine this is going to take a while because I have taught myself or learned that this STUFF is protection or security for some reason and it’s not. I have to retrain my brain.

Leave a Reply

