My 30th Birthday Celebration

Where do I begin! The anticipation of my birthday was crazy! I wanted to know what was happening so BADLY….but at the same time wanted it to be a surprise. I had so many different options going on in my mind that it could be…ruling some things out or in depending on what people said. My friends are amazing! My lovely “girlfriend” T and Mr. 72 put so much effort into planning this. I can’t THANK them enough. I don’t think I have ever had such an amazing, spectacular, fun, silly or special birthday in my life. THANK YOU to V3 for putting up with the two mentioned above and helping to plan my birthday too! You all deserve medals I think…better yet, a GOLD Star!

So  the clues that led me to know what we were doing? When the beginning process started, T mentioned it was family friendly. Hmm…intriguing. My mind is going a few different places. Then, a few weeks before I mentioned to Mr. 72 that I wanted to wear orange pants on my birthday. Why, he asked. Well, why not? I said. He said well that would be fine. Not sure why this led me to the idea of going to the circus…maybe because of the family friendly comment? One of my favorite places on earth is the circus or a carnival….that would be amazing. Then a few days before the event, I showed Mr. 72 my new outfit, and he said “that’s actually perfect”. Ensue confusion because little did they know, I googled to see if the circus was still in town, nope. Darn. There are couple other things I’ve been wondering about…maybe I’ll figure it out.

The day of: I start driving to Mr. 72’s house for the 5:30 show up time. My thoughts, ok, there’s one of three options; trapeze flying, house party, roller skating. All very good options. Then I get a text, “bring socks”. LOL I call back saying I’m not driving home because I’m 10 feet from your house. I will text T to bring me a pair. Roller Skating at Skate Land it is!!!! Woot!! This is what I wanted for my birthday the whole time! Stoopid silly fun! I love it! Dodging kids, getting sideways glances from parents, holding hands with Mr. 72 while skating, doing the chicken dance, getting yelled at for skating backwards with my girlfriend and subsequently falling on my ass. They even got cheesecake and cookies, pizza, soda and GLOW STICKS!!!    IT WAS INCREDIBLE!! Thank you to all my dear friends that made it out, it was such a special birthday and so happy I could share it with you. I hope you had as much fun as I did.

I was also surprised at getting any gifts on my birthday…I guess after a certain age, I just don’t think about getting gifts that much at birthday parties….I was just happy I had friends that showed up! LOL. But I can’t go without mentioning that Mr. 72 got me an amazing birthday gift, holy crap. Thank you so much! A new zoom lense! I have been complaining that my lens has no zoom to take pictures of him riding his motor bike at the track so he got me one! (Granted this helps him too, lol) But still!

Then a few of us headed out for some cocktails at Coach & Willies in downtown Chandler. Thank you to whoever got me the inappropriate shot. The apple(?) shot was yummy. Mr. 72 actually embarrassed me a little with his silliness….he’s so freakin cute sometimes. We talked about disgusting things too much, lol. Throw in some British accents and you were basically there! I loved this night. I can’t be appreciative enough for my friends, you are the bestest.

Then on my actual birthday. Exactly what I wanted. A lot of time with Mr. 72, I got to see my baby boy and my parents. It was perfect.

Mr. 72 went with me on a retro shopping trip in central Phoenix. We stopped at my favorite shop, Retro Ranch. This place is the amaze-balls. I could spend all day in there trying on old vintage clothes, poking around at the records and jewelry, and deciding what home decoration I need. I actually found an antique GE Light Meter! Holy Cats! (thanks “nelle” for that term). I will post about that soon.

We stopped over at Bizarre Guitar and Drum and Mr. 72 got to eyeball all the drums and symbols and such. He actually found something he had been needing so that was a major bonus! I learned about the Black Beauty drum. One day Mr. 72 needs to own one, his face gets all excited just talking about it.

Then…..we went over to a retro store that I used to love. Not going to name names because I hope they fix the issue but….the store has a store cat….and everything bad that goes along with having a cat. Everything smelled like cat piss. Makes me sad cause I really liked that store. I have no sense of smell so if it was bad for me, it must have been horrible for everyone else. I ran out of these without looking at anything. <sad face>

We got our grub on at Two Hippie’s Breakfast Joint. Yum!!!!! I will be back. I had the Feta Spinach Garlic Burger… wow, it was incredible! I had a urge to do what my sister does and order something strange, so I got that and boy I don’t regret it! The fries were perfect too and the orange Fanta was just icing on the cake!

We also checked out an antique store, Home Again Furniture and Antiques, on the corner that I hadn’t gone to. This store was packed! It was fun browsing and showing each other things we remember from our past or just different and cool stuff. You should check this store out when you have a chance.

After spending some good time with my baby boy and parents, they kindly watched him so me and Mr. 72 could go on a romantic dinner at Flemmings. Mr. 72 was my usual gentleman and ordered his little lady a glass of wine and her steak. Maybe I’m old fashioned in some regards but I love when he orders for me. It was DELICIOUS! The bread and homemade butter was so good I even had some after I had my steak! The restaurant even gave me a $25 gift card and truffles since it was my birthday! WOW. I subsequently gave the truffles to my parents as a Thank You.

I couldn’t have had a better birthday if I planned it myself. Thank you to everyone who made it so special for me. I will never forget my 30th Birthday. What an amazing weekend spent with the people I love the most. What more could a girl ask for!

Here’s some more pictures, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

